This Moment

home
Buzzing in my ear,
swat it away,
red creases
on the back of my legs,
I brush off the grass.
Baby deer approaches,
as the dogs freeze in fear,
or maybe it’s the dogs’ way,
of looking tougher than the deer.
The treetops above me,
oak, hickory and pine.
the blue sky peeks through
open space in the canopy.
Softness of dog fur
next to my cheek,
share the beauty with my pal.
Time passes this way,
hours, minutes, lifetimes.
Yet this moment,
runs on forever,
in my mind.

Leave a Reply

